Mercury Awards 2009

The Mercury Awards competition is sponsored by the Connecticut Valley, Southern Connecticut and Westchester/ Fairfield chapters of PRSA. The awards recognize outstanding work in the public relations, communications and marketing professions and are designed to honor creative and strategic excellence, and to encourage a higher level of performance in the field. Entries may be submitted by practitioners throughout Connecticut, Westchester County, the Lower Hudson Valley and southern Massachusetts.

Please see the Mercury Awards 2010 page for information and instructions on entering the 2010 competition.

The 2009 Mercury Awards concluded on June 11, with the awards dinner in New Haven.  Click here for a list of the winners, including the 2009 Practitioner of the Year. 

Alison Karam, APR (L) was named 2009 Practitioner of the Year, presented by Diane Dawson-Brown (R) of All The Best People, which specializes in placing professionals in communications, advertising and the graphic arts. Karam is a member of the CT Valley chapter and the Director of Public Relations, Marketing and Research at First Experience Communications in Glastonbury CT.


Photos of other 2009 award winners:


 Viveca Woods(L), owner of VMW Public Relations in Greenwich accepts her 2009 Gold Mercury Award from New Channel 8's Desiree Fontaine, at the June 11 ceremony. VMW won in the Media Relations:For-Profit category for its secondary ticket market credibility campaign.

Rob Gedarovich (L) and Saxon Schelfhaudt (far RT) of
Creative Partners in Stamford accept their Gold Mercury
in Community Relations:For Profit, from emcee
Gil Simmons of News Channel 8. Creative Partners
won for the "Health Net Cup" Wii senior bowling
tournament campaign.



Danielle Cyr (L) and Kate Ottavio accept one of several 2009
Mercury Awards Co-Communications won at the June 11
Mercury dinner. The agency has offices in Simsbury CT and Mt. Kisco NY.



 The Mercury event gave members of the three area chapters a chance to get together. The So. CT chapter contingent included (L-R) Marcia Simon, Marcia Simon Enterprises; Barb Arusiewicz, United Illuminating; John Morgan, Quinnipiac University; Trish Caldwell, Community Foundation of Greater New Haven; Michelle Wade, New Haven Public Schools; Carol Pompano, Anthem; Mary Ingarra, the Connecticut Water Company; and Evie Gard, Gateway Community College.


The 2009 Mercury Best in Show: Tactics was won by The Kotchen (West Hartford, CT) for non-profit media relations for theHartford Marathon Foundation's ING Hartford Marathon. Brie Barash from Kotchen accepted the award.

The 2009 Mercury Best in Show: Campaign was won by Mason Onofrio Public Relations (Bethany CT) for Street Smarts Campaign, a non-profit community relations campaign to increase pedestrian safety in New Haven. (L-R): Fran Onofrio, APR; Pina Violano, Yale-New Haven Hospital; Gil Simmons and Desiree Fontaine, News Channel 8; Jim Travers, City of New Haven.



If you have any questions, please contact:
Stephanie Harwood, APR
Westchester/Fairfield Chapter Liaison,  Mercury Awards
[email protected]
(203) 972-7574